If you get charged with driving while intoxicated in Texas, you could face serious penalties that could interfere with your ability to work and care for your family. Drunk driving can be a serious concern, but a one-time arrest can leave you with serious concerns for your future. This is especially true if you’re accused of aggravating circumstances that could make the penalties even steeper.
BAC is not the only issue
In Texas, you are considered legally intoxicated with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08, but you can still be charged with DWI if a police officer believes that alcohol or another substance is inhibiting your driving skills. This is true even if your BAC is below 0.08. For example, you can be charged with a drug DWI over cannabis use or suspected cannabis use. You could even face drug DWI charges if you were taking medications that were legally prescribed to you if a police officer feels your driving was affected. Some cases may even involve damaged or improperly used Breathalyzers.
DWI convictions can affect your life
The consequences of a drunk driving conviction can be significant. A first-offense DWI may come with a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail (with a mandatory 3 days) and the loss of your driver’s license for up to a year. The penalties for subsequent convictions are even more severe, including prison time and losing your license for up to two years.
Without a driver’s license, you may find it nearly impossible to fulfill your obligations to work, school and family, and your insurance and other costs will likely skyrocket. If you’ve been accused of drunk driving, a DWI defense attorney could potentially limit any penalties by challenging police allegations and working to achieve alternate solutions.